Got a question? icon02083226791
Australian School
James Cook University

James Cook University is unique among Australian universities, woven into the intellectual, economic and social fabric of our tropical 


JCU is Queensland’s second oldest university. It started its journey as the University College of Townsville in 1961, under the stewardship of the University of Queensland, and in 1970, James Cook University was established with its founding legislation providing the mandate for the strategic direction the University has pursued, to seek 
knowledge-based ways to help the world’s tropical regions prosper.

JCU is defined by the tropics. Its main campuses are in the heart of the tropics – Cairns, Singapore and Townsville. The campuses are complemented and extended by regional and remote study centres and research stations. JCU’s Australian campuses and field stations are located near the world heritage listed Great Barrier Reef Marine Park and the rainforests of the Wet Tropics region. This unique environment attracts students from around the world.

JCU plays a key role in preparing the professional workforce for northern Australia, and the University offers a comprehensive suite of professionally accredited programs including medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, veterinary sciences, psychology, nursing, sport and exercise science, engineering, law, education, and a range of programs in business, science, social science and humanities.